St. Petersburg DUI Lawyer
Tenacious attorney and former prosecutor defending drunk driving charges with determination and insight
When the police stop your vehicle on the roadway, the incident may lead to an arrest for driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs or controlled substances. The consequences of a driving under the influence (DUI) arrest will complicate your life and a conviction can result in fines and punishment that are costly, inconvenient and significant. It is vital that you contact an attorney for assistance as soon as possible. You should never admit guilt or plead to any charges before you have an opportunity to discuss your situation with legal counsel. At the law office of Joseph Montrone, Jr., P.A., I concentrate on helping those charged with DUI and other crimes. I have defended many clients arrested for driving under the influence and have a clear understanding of the steps required to defend those charged.
DUI charges demand a vigorous response to avoid serious punishment
There were more than 33,500 DUI convictions in Florida in 2011, according to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. When you are arrested for DUI, serious legal repercussions are possible. Even a first offense can result in fines and punishment that include:
- Community service
- License suspension
- DUI school
You may receive a prison sentence of up to six months for a first offense. A first offense can result in a nine-month sentence if there was a minor in the vehicle and your blood alcohol level was 0.08 or higher. Repeat offenders face even stiffer penalties. Fines and prison sentences are especially tough if you are convicted of felony DUI.
Your license to drive will be suspended if convicted of DUI in Florida
If you refuse to take a breath, blood or urine test, you face immediate suspension of your license for a minimum of 90 days and as much as one year, unless you can obtain a hardship license. A second refusal results in an 18-month suspension. Drivers in Florida agree to take these tests as part of signing a driver’s license. This is known as implied consent.
Your license will also be suspended if your DUI arrest leads to a conviction. A first conviction requires a minimum suspension of 180 days, but could result in as much as one year. Second and later convictions that occur within certain time periods, as well as any DUI that leads to manslaughter, will result in a longer suspension period or permanent revocation of your driving privileges.
The serious consequences of a DUI conviction, even a first offense, make clear the need to find a criminal defense lawyer who has the experience necessary to challenge DUI arrests and handle your case.
Contact a St. Petersburg, FL DUI attorney when you are arrested for driving under the influence
At the law office of Joseph Montrone, Jr., P.A., I fight DUI arrests for clients using experience gained in practicing law for 26 years. I provide a free initial consultation. Contact me online or call my office at 727-888-0102.